It has been five months since my last post. Yes, I’m still working on making more time to cook. Unless you have a tube in your throat or stomach, I hope you are doing better than I am in exploring the world of taste because it is such a pleasure to be able to learn through the senses when one does make time to cook! From Comoros, I have made my way over to the intoxicating country of Morocco.

travel Morocco

Here are two lovely Morocan proverbs from: Maroc Mama aka Amanda ‘s blog about a life of travel and food that I must envy! I truly agree with the above proverb because travel does help you appreciate humanity and our world more! You see and taste things you never knew existed as if you were a baby seeing things through fresh eyes for perhaps the first time!

Never-say-I-regret-always-say-I-learned-Moroccan-Proverb

Life is meaningful/ pleasurable if we view our suffering as growth or learning experiences rather than regrets. My regret used to be that I went traveling instead of getting married so young but since we will learn from this proverb, I should say, “I have learned the value of travel, integrity and time. ” I hope to make travel accessible to more people one day, but for now I can only leave you with the following recipe: Moroccan lamb kofta with cucumber tomato farro salad and garlic mint yogurt.

IMG_2116

Note: The pita bread and Greek yogurt were purchased from the market.

  1. We steamed the farro in the rice cooker. You can also boil water and cook the farro in the boiling water for 20 minutes on the stove top if you do not have a rice cooker.
  2. Wash and cut the cucumber, tomato and basil. Place in a salad bowl.
  3. Wash and cut a small bunch of mint. Mix it with 4 tablespoons of Greek yogurt with 2 cloves of minced garlic. The garlic mint yogurt is ready!
  4. In a separate bowl, mix a tablespoon of the Greek yogurt with the lamb, 4 cloves of minced garlic and cilantro.IMG_2108
  5. Shape the meat into oblong shapes for the kofta.

IMG_2110

5. Cook the meat.

IMG_2112

6. By now, the farro should be ready to put into the salad with the tomato and cucumber. Mix it with a bit of olive oil.

7. Heat the pita on the stove top. The dish is ready to enjoy!

Have you made this dish before? If so, how did it turn out? Does anyone know how it is made in Morocco? I’d love to know what is different!

Curious about Morocco’s very rich diverse cultural food history? Take a look at:

The Art of Moroccan Cuisine A Culture of Eating, Drinking, and Being Hospitable

About swtspontaneous

Drop me a line in the comments section... I would love to get to know you! I'm the author of the following blogs: https://foodtrek.wordpress.com/ https://fallingstarsdusktodawn.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Pingback: — foodtrek | Shine Bright Like a Smile

Leave a Reply

